Morwell on the March - Schools

Collins Street Primary No. 4655

Collins Street Primary School was officially opened on a five acre site situated at the corner of Mary Street on Monday 30th. April 1951. The initial school population numbered some 200 pupils. The Prep. Class was not enrolled until July and until the end of the school year was housed in the Church of England Hall in Latrobe Road.

The first head teacher was Mr. Laurence A. Kelly.

The first school committee was elected at a meeting held on Tuesday, May 15th. Those successful were : Messrs. R. C. Cousins, L.W. Bond, E.J. McElroy, R. A. Froomes, R. H. Guy, D. W. Wallis, and J. L. Palmerc.

The committee office bearers were:

Chairman: R. A. Froomes Correspondent: D. W. Wallis Treasurer: R. C. Cousins

Tobruk Street Primary No. 4680

Approval for the construction of a third Morwell Primary School was given in June 1951. The school was planned to cater for the children who would be living in the 300 home Housing Commission area known as the "Hourigan Estate".

When discussing the issue of the "Churchill Road School" as it was then referred to, the Shire Council resolved in May 1952 to ask the Education Department to call for tenders for a "built on site" building in preference to a pre-fabricated unit. Cr. Hourigan believed that " a local job would be better, cheaper and completed earlier".

The Department had earlier advised that a pre-fabricated unit could be ready by February 1953. Cr. Hare stressed the need for the school to be erected as soon as possible.

Tobruk Street Primary School was eventually established on 2nd. February 1954, at a site on the corner of Churchill Road. The initial pupil enrolment was approximately 500. Meetings were held in February to establish a Mother's Club, at one of these meetings it was decided that a Father's Club should also be formed.

The following were elected as office bearers:

Mother' s Club President: Mrs. Jeffrey Vice Presidents: Mrs. Milligan and Mrs. Cummings Secretary: Mrs. Scicluna

Father's Club President: Mr. Little Secretary/Treasurer: Mr. Scicluna Committee: Messrs. Judge, Cash, Bakker, Cook and Jeffrey

The school committee was formed at a meeting held on Monday 15th March. The office bearers elected at that meeting were:

Chairman: Mr. Woolley Correspondent: Mr. Baker Treasurer: Mr. Sawyer Committee: Messrs. Cook, Bakker, Millett and McKay

The first head teacher was Mr. John Evans.

St. Vincent's Primary
The next school to be established was St. Vincent's Primary School in Morwell East. The school was housed in an old Air Force building that had been purchased in 1953 from the facility at East Sale. This temporary accommodation was used from 1954 until the end of 1956. A new brick school building that also doubled as a church was opened in 1957.
Crinigan Road Primary No. 4692

The last primary school to be erected in this period was Crinigan Road (No. 4692). The site chosen for this school was on the corner of Maryvale Road, in fact it was intended that the school would be called "Maryvale Road" but the education authorities decided upon the change of name to avoid confusion with other schools (secondary) which were located or under construction on or near Maryvale Road.

The school complex consisting of eight buildings was ready for students in early July 1957. Owing to the poor condition of the school grounds it remained unoccupied until the fifth and sixth grade pupils moved in on Monday July 29th. The remaining grades commenced on Wednesday July 31st. 260 students attended classes in the first week. Thirty 'beginners' commenced their schooling on Monday August 5th.

The first head teacher (Acting) was Mr. W. P. Liston.

Staff: Miss M. Cook; Miss Y. Aslett ;Miss A. Crook; Mrs. F. Neville; Mr. J. Langley; Mr. R. Mentiplay

The school committee was formed in early 1958. The first office bearers were:

President: Mr. Harold Westgarth; Secretary: Mr. Peter Duncan ;Treasurer: Mr. Duncan Guthrie

Morwell High School

Morwell High School was constructed on a site at the corner of McDonald Street and Holmes Road. The school came into existence on 7th February 1956 but for the first twelve months students were ferried by bus to accommodation at the old elementary school in Grey Street, Traralgon. The first year enrolment figures were 37 boys and 97 girls, giving a total of 134 students.

The first staff members were: Mr. H. J. Slattery (Head Master); Mr. J. A. Mitchell (Senior Master); Miss J. F. E. Goodwill (Senior Mistress); Mr. J. M. Murfett; Mr. A.A. Van Rossum; Miss B. R. Davies; Mrs. J. M. Fendlay

The school was not officially opened until October 1959. The Honourable J. S. Bloomfield M.L.A., Minister for Education performed the official opening. The first school captains: Peter Tatterson and Nina Debono were appointed at the commencement of the 1959 academic year.

Morwell Technical School

Morwell Technical School began in February 1959 with 96 form 1 pupils accommodated in temporary premises on the site of the Yallourn Technical School. The pupils were conveyed daily to and from Yallourn by school bus. It was not until the next school year that the first section of buildings on the site, in Maryvale Road, Morwell, were ready for occupation.

The first principal was Mr. M. E. Davidson.

Primary School Head Teachers 1950s
Collins Street 1951 - 1955 Laurence A. Kelly
1955 - 1957 Henry A. Campbell
1958 - onwards Cyril T. McCullough
Commercial Road 1950 - 1952 Stephen Hartup
1952 - 1957 James R. Elliott
1957 - onwards John H. Sturtz
Crinigan Road 1957 W. P. Liston (Acting)
1957 D. W. Pollock (Acting)
1958 - onwards Thomas Monahan
Tobruk Street 1954 - 1956 John I. Evans
1956 - 1958 Reginald L. Walton
1958 - onwards Raymond Simcocks