# MORWELL HISTORICAL SOCIETY

# **Morwell Shire Directory**

Published in instalment form in the Morwell and Yinnar Gazette during the month of May **MEMBER OF FEDERAL PARLIAMENT** 

• Honourable Allen McLean

#### MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

• Hons. J. Hoddinott, W. Pearson, W. McCulloch, and E. J. Crooke

# MEMBER OF LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

• Honourable F. C. Mason, The Speaker

#### MORWELL SHIRE COUNCIL

- President Cr. Donald Macmillan
- Councillors J. Hall, W. F. O'Grady, G. Firmin, S. Vary, and T. Watson
- Secretary and Engineer Mr. T. Sinclair
- Health Officer Dr. W. Moir
- Poundkeeper Mr. Thomas Keogh, Yinnar
- Inspector of Nuisances Constable Gorman
- Bankers Colonial Bank
- Official Organ The Morwell Gazette
- Auditor Mr. H. McIntosh

Portion of Traralgon and Narracan Shires severed and constituted Morwell Shire 27th May, 1892 Area - 255 sq. miles. Population, 2503. Rate 1s in the £. Number of assessments, 980.Ratepayers in rate book, 681; on voters role, 492 The Council meets in Morwell, monthly

#### **GOVERNMENT**

- Police Magistrate, Coroner and Warden Mr. C. A. Creswell
- Justices of Peace John Hall and Donald Macmillan, Morwell; Samuel Vary, Driffield; T. Walsh, Yinnar; W. Edney, Morwell Bridge
- Clerk of Courts Charles Du Ve
- Police Officer Constable Gorman
- Post Mistress Miss Vigar
- Electoral Registrar Mr. Thomas Slattery
- Registrar of Births and Deaths Miss Vigar
- Receipt and Pay Master Mr. J. Keys
- Government Surveyor Mr. Pinninger

# State School Teachers -

- Morwell Mr. T. Slattery
- Yinnar Mr. Holland
- Boolarra Mr. Bell
- Eel Hole Creek Mr. Loftus
- Driffield Miss Leadbetter

#### **BOARD OF ADVISE**

Mr. W. Tulloch, Chairman. J. Walker, Sec.

#### **MILITARY**

- Commander of Morwell Section of Rangers Lieutenant J. Hall
- Captain of Morwell Rifle Club Mr Richard Brazier. J. B. Hoyle, sec

# FRIENDLY SOCIETIES

- Morwell A.N.A. Mr. D. McDonald, president, Mr. J. Sullivan, secretary
- M.U.I.O.O.F. G. Watson, secretary

#### **MECHANICS INSTITUTES**

- Morwell Mechanics and Free Library G. Watson, secretary
- Yinnar Mechanics T. McKendry, sec.
- Hazelwood Mechanics T. Watson, sec.

### **CHURCHES**

- Roman Catholic Very Rev. Father Coleman and Rev. Father Hallinan
- Church of England Rev. H. T. Langley
- Presbyterian Church Rev. E. Law
- Wesleyan Church Rev. W. Richards

#### **BANKS**

- Bank of Australasia Mr Aherin, Manager
- Colonial Bank Mr. Witt, Manager

#### **BOOLARRA**

Township on Morwell and North Mirboo line, 12 miles from Morwell. Frank Gleddon, postmaster at railway station. Population 200

# **DARLIMURLA**

A small village 16½ miles from Morwell on Mirboo road. Alice Ott, postmistress at railway station. Population 100

#### **YINNAR**

Township on Morwell line. Jas Travers, postmaster at railway station