Morwell Bridge, situated approximately four miles to the west of Morwell township was originally an important staging place at the Morwell River on the Melbourne to Sale coach service. The route was first established circa 1846/7 and upgraded in 1849. In 1858 Mr. Peter Jeremiah Smith settled at Morwell Bridge and established an hotel.
A post office was subsequently incorporated into the hotel with Mr. Smith carrying out the duties of Post Master. Mr. Smith died in 1873. His wife Mary became Post Mistress. Mr. Henry Godridge took over the hotel and post office in 1879.
The settlement at Morwell Bridge prospered and in later years was well served by a school, church hall, two general stores (one of which incorporated an unofficial Post Office) and two garages. The town was also able to boast a football ground and a tennis court.
At its peak Morwell Bridge had between fifty to sixty houses and a population of approximately 350 people.
Morwell Bridge suffered much property damage when the disastrous bushfires of 1944 struck the district.
The never-ending search for supplies of brown coal for the generation of electricity meant the end for Morwell Bridge.
With the expansion of open cut mining operations the township went into decline. The State Electricity Commission of Victoria bought the residents houses and by the early 1960’s Morwell Bridge had ceased to exist.